Nea Moni or New Monastery, about 15 kilometers from Chios town. Started by three hermits the monastery is the home of the miracle-working icon of the Theotokos which was found hanging from a tree. The monastery was begun by Constantine the Combatant who was the emperor of Byzantium and completed by the empress Theodora. Decorated with mosaics from the best artists of the 11th Century, many of which survive, the monastery was attacked by the Turks in 1822, its inhabitants slaughtered and again in 1828.